A Novel Reading List: Wallflower Charlie

My high school blazer was second hand, it’s not that we were poor, but my parents (rightly) didn’t see the point in spending hundreds of dollars on a new one. It was a bit shabby, with the shoulders worn down, and the cuffs fraying; but the best pert is that the pockets were stretched bigger than everyone else’s. I stopped bringing a pencil case to class because I could just fit everything in my pockets, sometimes I wouldn’t even need a bag. But, the best thing was that the pockets were the perfect size for a book – not the books that I was assigned to read (Jane Eyre anyone?), they were too big – but the books that I choose to read: On the Road, Norwegian Wood, Fight Club, and my favourite, The Perks of Being a Wallflower. My copy was as tattered as my blazer; scrawls in the margins, dog-eared pages, food stains.

Wallflower Charlie loved to read. So here is his reading list (most of them are recommended to him by his English teacher):

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald
A Separate Peace by John Knowles
Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger
On the Road by Jack Kerouac
Naked Lunch by William S. Burroughs
Walden by Henry David Thoreau
Hamlet by William Shakespeare
The Stranger by Albert Camus
The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand

The book also mentions a E. E. Cummings, The Mayor of Castro Street by Randy Shilts, and Anne Rice.

Leave a Reply

