Haiku/Review. II

When I finish a book I usually have one of two reactions:
1. I press the book to my forehead and wish I could unread it so I could begin again
2. I throw it on the floor and stomp away

I obviously have strong reactions to books but find it hard to put my thoughts into words, other than an incoherent ramble. I need boundaries and limits to hinder my thoughts, to stop them falling from my consciousness.

So, the last few books I have read, reviewed in haiku:

Stoner – John Williams
A tragic hero.
Incriminating title:
It’s not about weed.

The Festival of Insignificance – Milan Kundera
Read in one sitting
Made to laugh at misfortune
Classic Kundera

The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie – Muriel Spark
A boring look at
The small lives of teacher’s pets
Why did I finish?

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender – Leslye Walton
A girl born with wings
Generational saga
That caused me to weep

A Discovery of Witches – Deborah Harkness
Books, they hold magic
Old secrets are uncovered.
I stayed up all night.

riikka-sormunen

Artwork by Riikka Sormunen.

One thought on “Haiku/Review. II

  1. Love your Stoner haiku! If you loved Stoner as much as I did then I am positive you will love one of my favourite books, William Maxwells ‘So Long, See You Tomorrow’. I review it on Goodreads.

    Like

Leave a Reply

