Pixel Picks. I

As well as reading pages and pages of books, I also read a huge amount online – interviews, articles, essays, poetry, fiction and non. Unlike books, I have no way of tracking and reflecting on these, until now. Weekly I will be posting my pixel picks – links from around the web; sometimes it will be a piece that I will mull over for hours, other times it is a silly list that made me laugh for a moment.

Enjoy.

On the wave of rereading The Goldfinch: The New Inquiry interviewed researcher and author Noah Charney on his new book The Art of Forgery, a book about the world of art crimes.

For when my eyes are sore: I recently stumbled upon Spotify’s Word genre corner – boasting a collection of literary playlists; readings of poetry, short stories, and books. So far my favourite playlists are A Hipster’s Guide to Poetry, The Essential Edgar Allen Poe, The Beats, and Women’s Lit.

Post Potter: Flavorwire celebrates J.K. Rowling on her post-Potter career – witty tweets, pseudonyms, and ‘muggle-wisdom’.

Literary Unexpectedness: Lit Hub’s list of books that are unexpected for it’s genre, including a few of my favourites – The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time and Never Let Me Go.

For a beekeeper anticipating Springtime: Davis McCombs’ poem Dumpster Honey, published in The New Yorker, makes me long for bee season again. This New Zealand winter has gone on long enough.

c7469cc394123456eb3b31bbdecdd0dd

Image by Aldo Sergio

Leave a Reply

