A year of books

Often I feel as if I don’t read enough, however, this morning I decided to write a list of all the books I have read this year (that I can remember). As it turns out, I read a lot, possibly more than enough.

A lot of the books I have read this year have been re-reads. Some only for the second time, others for the fourth, fifth, or sixth time. I think this year was the tenth time I’ve read the Narnia series, I try to read them every year, along with Harry Potter.

So, here is my reads of 2013:

The Silmarillion ­– J.R.R. Tolkien

The Hobbit ­– J.R.R. Tolkien

The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald

Eragon ­– Christopher Paolini

Eldest – Christopher Paolini

Brisingr – Christopher Paolini

Inheritance – Christopher Paolini

The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins

Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins

The Luminaries – Eleanor Catton

Norwegian Wood – Haruki Murakami

Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone – J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Half-blood Prince – J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – J.K. Rowling

The Casual Vacancy – J.K. Rowling

The Cuckoo’s Calling – Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling)

Boy: Tales of Childhood – Roald Dahl

Going Solo – Roald Dahl

The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet – Reif Larsen

The Secret History – Donna Tartt

Fragile Things – Neil Gaiman

A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Bad Beginning – Lemony Snicket

The Great Gatsby: A Graphic Adaptation – Nicki Greenberg

The Magicians Nephew – C.S. Lewis

The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe – C.S. Lewis

The Horse and His Boy – C.S. Lewis

Prince Caspian – C.S. Lewis

The Voyage of The Dawn Treader – C.S. Lewis

The Silver Chair – C.S. Lewis

The Last Battle – C.S. Lewis

Hamlet – Manga Shakespeare

Hamlet: A Novel – John Marsden

The Shack – Paul Young

Wildwood – Colin Meloy and Carson Ellis

Romeo and Juliet – Shakespeare

The Terrible Things that happened to Barnaby Brocket – John Boyne

The Unbearable Lightness of Being – Milan Kundera

The Selected Poems of James K. Baxter – Paul Millar

The 10pm Question – Kate de Goldi

Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of The West – Gregory Maguire

Every Day – David Levithan

The Lover’s Dictionary – David Levithan

The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky

A Field Guide to Getting Lost – Rebecca Solnit

Just Kids – Patti Smith

If I counted correctly (and I think I did), I have read 50 books so far this year. I only have to read two more to average one book a week, but I’ve got the Christmas holidays coming up, so I think I’ll read a few more than two. But, for now, the next books on my list are Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch and Meg Rosoff’s How I Live Now. I’m just waiting for The Goldfinch to appear in my letterbox and I haven’t read How I live Now since I was fifteen, so I’m looking forward to my reading days ahead!

 

One thought on “A year of books

Leave a Reply

