The Wolves (Act I and II) – Lyrics as Literature

These lyrics by Bon Iver are chilling and haunting, especially when paired with the music. The lyrics can be interpreted many different ways, allowing students to be challenged to uncover what it means to them.

Someday my pain, someday my pain
Will mark you
Harness your blame, harness your blame
And walk through

With the wild wolves around you
In the morning, I’ll call you
Send it farther on

Solace my game, solace my game
It stars you
Swing wide your crane, swing wide your crane
And run me through

And the story’s all over you
In the morning i’ll call you
Can’t you find a clue when your eyes are all painted Sinatra blue

What might have been lost –
Don’t bother me

Read the lyrics to The Wolves (Act I and II) and then listen to the song.  Write a list or a map of words to describe how the song makes you feel.

Creative writing: Imagine you are the narrator of this song/poem. Write a short story about what might have happened in your life that inspired you to write this.

OR

Visual essay: Go onto an image sharing website (such as pinterest or tumblr) and find images (or photograph your own) that represent the feelings in these lyrics.

Leave a Reply

